The Business Women
Where Business Runs Around Her

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Anticipating Cricket’s Grand Spectacle


The world of cricket is buzzing with excitement as the 13th edition of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup approaches. Set to unfold in India from October 5 to November 19, 2023, this biennial one-day international (ODI) extravaganza is poised to deliver a sporting spectacle like no other. Here’s your comprehensive guide to this highly anticipated event.

A Grand Inauguration in Ahmedabad

The tournament kicks off with a riveting clash between cricket powerhouses New Zealand and defending champions England. This monumental showdown takes place at the awe-inspiring Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, with its colossal capacity of 132,000 spectators setting the stage for the thrilling cricketing action to come.

A Nationwide Cricket Carnival

The 2023 World Cup is a 46-day cricketing odyssey featuring 48 matches held in 10 cities across India. Each city will host a selection of matches, with the exception being the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad, which will host three games.

The crown jewel of the tournament, the Narendra Modi Stadium, not only hosts the opening match but also the grand finale on November 19. The two semifinals will take place at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai and Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

These venues transcend being mere cricket grounds; they are epicentres of cricketing fervour, bringing fans from every corner of the country together.

The Ten Contenders

Ten cricketing nations have earned their place in the tournament, each with a unique history and an unyielding ambition to claim the coveted trophy. Here’s a glimpse at the participating teams and their past World Cup performances:

  • Afghanistan – Best finish: Group stage
  • Australia – Best finish: Champions (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015)
  • Bangladesh – Best finish: Quarterfinalists
  • England – Best finish: Champions (2019)
  • India – Best finish: Champions (1983, 2011)
  • Netherlands – Best finish: Group stage
  • New Zealand – Best finish: Runners-up (2015, 2019)
  • Pakistan – Best finish: Champions (1992)
  • South Africa – Best finish: Semifinalists
  • Sri Lanka – Best finish: Champions (1996)

Qualification for this year’s World Cup followed a distinct path, involving matches played between 2020 and 2023, ensuring that only the cream of the cricketing crop made it to the tournament.

Online Ticket Booking

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) opened the doors for ICC World Cup 2023 ticket bookings in the second week of August 2023. If you’re eager to secure your seat in the stands and wondering about ticket prices, there are various options available. The BCCI’s official website and platforms like Book My Show facilitate ticket purchases.

Ticket prices for the ICC World Cup 2023 vary, ranging from 500 to 10,000 rupees, depending on the venue and the specific match. To stay updated on ticket prices and any schedule changes, keep an eye on the BCCI’s official website.

The Prize Awaits

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has allocated a substantial prize fund of $10 million for the 2023 World Cup, matching the amount offered in the 2019 edition. The champions will walk away with a staggering $4 million, a testament to the immense pressure and prestige of being World Cup winners.

The runners-up will receive $2 million, while the two other semifinalists will be rewarded with $800,000 each. Even teams that don’t make it to the knockout stages will receive $100,000 each for their participation. Additionally, a $40,000 bonus will be awarded to the winners of every match during the group stage, providing an extra incentive for teams to shine from the start.

In Conclusion

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 promises to be an epic cricketing spectacle. With top-tier teams battling it out in India’s iconic cricketing arenas, fans can anticipate intense matches, nail-biting finishes, and unforgettable moments etched in cricketing history. The countdown to this grand sporting extravaganza has begun, and the cricketing world eagerly awaits the exhilarating journey ahead

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More